Honey Chipotle Chicken Bowls with Lime Quinoa

Last night was not a fun night. My little one has decided that her goal in life is to see every hour on the clock at night. Well, maybe it’s not her goal in life, but it certainly seems to be. I have be up and working around 7 each morning (I mostly work from home) and am currently watching Clara on the monitor and enjoying a coconut milk latte to try to wake me up.

Last night we had a fantastic dinner. The only bad part was there were only enough leftovers for 1 lunch and I let hubby take it. I may moan that he gets to take it and I’ll be having ¬†turkey on a corn tortilla, but It secretly makes me happy that he always takes leftovers of what I cook for lunch the next day and I will always let him have them. Unless the leftovers involve frosting – I always get the last frosting.

I pinned this recipe over the weekend and had to try it so I bought the ingredients that day. It’s a honey chipotle chicken bowl with lime quinoa from a great blog – howsweeteats. ¬†http://www.howsweeteats.com/2014/01/honey-chipotle-chicken-bowls/

honey-chipotle-chicken-bowls-I-howsweeteats.com-3

It’s healthy, It’s got everything (except gluten, dairy, soy, nuts!) – spice, sweetness, protein,and there’s an avocado. I don’t think anything can be bad when there’s an avocado involved. Here’s the recipe which includes my tweaks and the original in parenthesis.

ingredients:

honey chipotle chicken
1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used 2 breasts. I never weigh meat – is that bad?)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons adobo sauce, from a can of chipotles in adobo (I never know what to do with the leftover chipotles from the can – a recipe always only calls for a little. Any suggestions?)
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon honey mustard
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
4 garlic cloves, minced

salad
6 cups spring greens
1/2 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup torn fresh cilantro
4 green onions, sliced
1 avocado, sliced
1 lime, juiced (I only used 1/2 lime – Scott doesn’t go gaga over citrus)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 tablespoon honey

lime quinoa
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
1 vegetable stock
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 lime, juiced and zest freshly grated ( I left out the zest and only used 1/2 lime)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

I added a dash of cayenne pepper and cumin to the quinoa as well – I liked those flavors and the addition of the heat.

directions:

Add the chicken breasts to a baking dish or ziplock bag and season with salt and pepper. In a bowl, whisk together the olive oil, adobo, honey, mustards, cilantro and garlic. Pour the marinade over the chicken, covering it evenly. Place it in the fridge and marinate for at least 2 hours, or even overnight.

When you’re ready to make the meal, heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add a tiny bit of olive oil and add the chicken, then cover the skillet and cook until the chicken is deeply browned on both sides and cooked in the center, about 6 minutes per side. (I wish I didn’t cook it on such a high heat – the marinade is fantastic and the extra burned and stuck to the pan – i would have liked to be able to coat the chicken in it. )

To make the salads, add the greens in a large bowl and toss them with a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Add the chicken on top along with the quinoa, the tomatoes, cilantro, green onions and avocado. Drizzle the bowl with the lime juice, olive oil and honey. Serve! (I used the lime juice, olive oil, and honey to make a dressing instead of drizzling. I actually had some leftover dressing from the Asparagus, Tomato, Avocado salad from the previous night, so I just added the ingredients to that and tossed the greens with it. I’d do it again that way.)

lime quinoa
Add the quinoa and stock (or water) to a saucepan over high heat and bring it to a boil. Once boiling, reduce the heat to low and cover the pot. Cook for about 15 minutes, or until all the liquid is absorbed. Stir in the coconut oil (you can swap butter), lime juice, zest, salt and pepper.

Here’s my result!

DSC00709

Again, this was absolutely delicious. This will become a regular in our rotation. I think the marinade will also taste really good on seafood or pork. I may add some mango next time.

I promise my next post will be on a non food pin. I have a pinterest art project I’m finishing, will be trying a pinned camera technique as well as looking for some dry hand cures. Time go get to work!

Leave a Reply

